Oops!

oops1

Here on our end, there’s been job transition drama, house flooding and homeowners’ insurance drama, not to mention my having minor surgery (which went off quite smoothly after clearing all the red tape, thank goodness).  Nevertheless, it’s been over a month since I’ve posted.  My bad. So, what better title to write about than Jean-Luc Fromental and Joëlle Jolivet’s Oops!  about a French family encountering a bunch of bizarre obstacles as they hustle across Paris trying to catch their plane before it takes off for the Tunisian island of Djerba.

I’m a sucker for beautiful and unique books.  If it’s oversize, very small, oddly shaped or otherwise novel, bring it and let me see.  Last week, when I saw this one fairly hulking over the others in the Publix bargain book bin when I went to pick up a few groceries on Day One of my recuperation from back surgery, I took the bait.  What really dazzled me was the interior artwork– the perspective of the buildings and what looked to me like a mash-up of millennial, Toulouse-Lautrec and 1960s graphic design.

When I gave it to Big Man, he didn’t seem overly intrigued.  That is until he spotted the animal antics laced throughout the book:  zoo bears on the lam, a battalion of bees ready to strike, falling circus elephants, clueless pigs that luckily evade slaughter.  All of these made him hoot with uncontrollable laughter.  Later he took notice of the architectural and public works stuff that I thought would catch his eye.

oops

oop

At this writing, he’s read the book straight through at least three times, sometimes takes it with him in the car and often keeps it open-faced on his bed so that he can see his favorite pages while getting dressed for bed.  He even convinced his teacher that it would be a good supplement to the class’ study of cause and effect writing and because of that took it along with him to school today.

What are some of the nonsensical books that you or your kids like to read?

Leave a Reply

