Collards!

                 Cookbook cover                                 Cookbook Title Page

This marks the tenth year (wow…) since I self published the little cookbook whose picture you see above.   It was low-budget and fun– a major accomplishment for me in terms of really going the distance with a creative writing project.  I would really like to update it.  We’ll see.   In any case, posting about Big Man and I at Red Rooster reminded me of one one of my favorite recipes from my Afro-Bohemian cookbook.  couve, or Brazilian style collard greens.   Collards and kale are my favorite greens and I find ways to regularly work them into my home menu in a variety of ways.  Like one of my favorite foodies, the legendary Vertamae Grosvenor says in her book Vibration Cooking or the Travel Notes of a Geechee, “A bowl of collard greens does for me what chicken soup does for others.”    Try the recipe and see if you say the same.

Jene making collard greens (Fall 2011)
Browngirl and a cast iron pan of green goodness

           Collard Greens Excerpt for Blog

2 thoughts on “Collards!

Leave a comment