New York 2013 (Part One)

Earlier this month, Big Man and I visited New York.  My last visit to the city was back in 2004 when I attended Yari Yari Pamberi at NYU.  Before that it was for an art fair back in 1999 and before that the Brooklyn West Indian Day Parade way back in the days of Super Cat

Image

and Super Blue. Big Man was there just last summer to witness his dad’s graduation from an online distance learning program.  Because he loves all things architectural and pays a good deal of attention to the internal organs of buildings as well,  Man was very much in sync with NYC though he was only there for about two days.   I’m told that much of the time he kept saying things like, “I wish mom could see that” or “Mom would really like this.”  So, in 2013 we got our wish.  It was our first trip there together, and getting to share it made me very happy.

This visit came about because of my writing residency at an arts colony in Vermont.  While I was away in my little studio further north in the Green Mountains, Big Man would be with relatives and would get to ride subway trains, walk bridges, scale skyscrapers and indulge in kiddie amusements to his heart’s content.  But before we parted, I dragged him along as I satisfied my inner culture nerd.  Within the next few days, I’ll be sharing some of the highlights.

Leave a comment